Saint-Baudille-de-la-Tour



Welcome to Saint-Baudille-de-la-Tour, a village north of the Balcons du Dauphiné on the Isle Crémieu plateau. Come and discover its church and its Sensitive Natural Area of Luve!
The village which was called "Mont-Solide" during the Revolution, takes its name from "Saint Baudille", or Baudillus, soldier and Christian martyr beheaded in 271. The addition "de la Tour" would come from the name of the one of the great seigniorial families, owner of the parish territory.
At the end of the 19th century, a Copper Age burial was discovered in the village of Saint-Baudille-de-la-Tour, surrounded by cliffs, was, in fact, rather difficult to access, which is why the people of the time settled there.
The village will then experience great economic prosperity during the Bronze Age (1200 years BC).
Pottery, bronze jewelry and traces of villas made it possible to determine the Gallo-Roman origin of the hamlet of Surbaix. At that time, Saint-Baudille was part of the territory of the allobroges, a people already well structured and organized, with an important communication network and the origin of a vast trade. (To find out more about this period, go to the archaeological museum of Hières-sur-Amby).
1. Saint-Baudille-de-la-Tour and its heritage
– The Saint-Baudille parish church: built between 1895 and 1898 according to plans by Grenoble architect Ferdinand Bugey, this church replaces an older building.
The church was erected at the place called the 3 fountains, at the same place where Baudillius was beheaded.
According to legend, the martyr's head fell in 3 successive leaps and, at the location of the 3 bloody traces, 3 resplendent fountains emerged.
From the 10th century, the Isle Crémieu plateau became a border zone. Defensive buildings were erected in the commune: the Brotel castle, the fortifications of the Château des Mouches, the Baix tower, the Dames fortified house, the Loyal and Torons farms.
– The Brotel fortified house (private site): perched on a rocky outcrop, the Brotel fortified house dominates the Val d'Amby. Dated 1247, it was remodeled in the XNUMXth century, allowing it to mix medieval and Renaissance style.
It has many owners including Edouard Herriot, French academician and statesman, figure of the Third Republic and opponent of the Pétain regime, which led to his being deported in 1944. The square in front of the village church bears his name.
The castle was then sold to the Oncieu de Chaffardon family who partially restored it and renovated its slate roof.
The castle cannot be visited. However, the current owner, Mr. Guillaume Convert, organizes every year in June, with the By Squadron, a medieval festival, with a guided tour of the estate.
– La Ferme des Dames: initially a fortified house with fortifications.
This farm is one of the six fortified houses reported in the pontifical survey of 1339 on the parish of Saint-Baudille in the command of Quirieu.
Its main building dates from the 15th century and was built by the Putrain family, lord of Amblérieu, as evidenced by the family coat of arms carved on the entrance porch.
We can also recognize the tower, the interior spiral staircases and the mullioned windows from this period.
Over the centuries, the property changed hands, particularly among women from the Amblérieu seigneury, which earned it the name "Ladies' Farm." Notable owners include Catherine de Paris in the 17th century, and a century later, the Countess of Quinsonnas and the Countess of Virieu, who ran the religious school for girls until 1911.
In 1961-62, the estate was no longer linked to a noble descendant. It was bought by Mr. Servenat, an industrialist from Morestel, then it was sold in 1985 to a company.
In 1979 the association “Les Roulottes Dauphiné” became the tenant of the premises, which were now in very poor condition. She will offer horseback riding which will help to raise awareness of the site.
Finally, in 1992, the municipality became the owner and undertook the restoration and development of the site which today allows the rental of gîtes and reception rooms for weddings.
– The lime factory:
Next to the river, there once stood a mill which depended on the Brotel castle.
The latter was replaced in 1798 by a lime factory which would be supplied by the Planches quarry (Optevoz).
Arriving by train at the factory, the lime was slaked and crushed, before being transported to the Hières-sur-Amby factory where part of it was transformed into cement. It will operate until 1970.
2. Saint-Baudille-de-la-Tour, nature side with the Sensitive Natural Space (ENS) of the Luve wetland*
This site is home to a small peat bog and a pond. A discovery trail allows you to observe the fauna and flora of the wetlands, in particular the green tree frog, the marsh fern and the maritime rumex. A recently landscaped pond invites you to a peaceful discovery of nature, and an educational booklet is available for a complete experience.
*Events are regularly organized in the local ENSs. Information and registration at the Balcons du Dauphiné Tourist Office.
3. A highlight: the L'Isle en scène Festival, organized by the community of communes of Balcons du Dauphiné, every year in May, with concerts and family activities!
Themes
Visit
Individual visit services
- Unguided individual tours permanently
Opening
All year round, every day.
Prices
Free access.

